Adventures in Moodle

I’ve been really enjoying getting to grips with Moodle again and using it with almost all of my classes.  I’ve been experimenting with it in a few ways and thought I’d outline those ways here to help with my thinking.

Q+A Forum

I’m planning on teaching a lesson based on Penny Pyramid which came up on dy/dan some months back.  As a homework, I set up a Q+A Forum with the picture and asked students to ask as many questions about the starting picture as they could.  The Q+A forum format means that they can only look at the responses of others after they have made their own submission.  This has thrown up some good questions that I’m going to use tomorrow – thankfully the most popular question has been –  ‘How many pennies are in the pyramid?’, so we’ll run with that tomorrow.

Online text assignment

I have been looking at Trial and Improvement with my Year 11s and found a BBC Bitesize activity called Xara the Psychic.  This only has one question that is to be answered and so I set up an assignment requiring online text.  Students had to solve the equation and post their answer.  I was then able to mark it and give detailed feedback online.

Parent evening appointments

This has been great – I have Year 11 parent evening really soon (22nd September) and rather than lose the sheet as I always do I used a Moodle choice activity.  I listed all the times and limited the number of people who could make that choice to one.  I can then export the choices as an Excel sheet and never lose it – genius!

What’s next?

It is early days on trying to implement Moodle well into my teaching.  I have appreciated it over the past week and I think my students have as well.  Homework submission has been high which can be unusual for my school.

Have you any great ways you use Moodle to teach Maths? Or any other subject?

 

Leave a comment